About the Board

The Public Employees' Retirement Board is an independent, seven-member board, appointed by the Governor to administer eight retirement systems and the State’s Deferred Compensation Plan. The Board approves MPERA's operating budget, decides legislative policy and priorities, and hires the executive director.  In addition, the Board establishes the policies and procedures that govern operations at MPERA, hear and rule on appeal matters of disabilitants, retirees, and members. Board members do not receive compensation for their service to MPERA, but are reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred while serving.

Public Employees’ Retirement Board

(left to right): Sheena Wilson, Marty Tuttle, Julie McKenna, Pepper Valdez, Robyn Driscoll, Maggie Peterson. Not shown: David Severson

Click here for a list of Board of Trustee meetings and minutes.

Marty Tuttle, President
Clancy, Active DC Plan Member
Appointed July 2015
Re-Appointed March 2019
Term Expires April 2024
Email: MaTuttle@mt.gov
Pepper Valdez, Vice President
Billings, Active Public Employee
Appointed July 2015
Term Expires April 2020
Email: Pepper.Valdez@mt.gov
Maggie Peterson
Anaconda, Experience in Investment Management
PERS Board Representative - BOI since 5/31/2017
Appointed June 2014
Re-Appointed March 2019
Term Expires April 2024
Email: Maggie.Peterson@mt.gov
Julie McKenna
Helena, Active Public Employee
Re-Appointed April 2017
Term Expires April 2022
Email: Julie.McKenna@mt.gov
Sheena Wilson
Helena, Retired Public Employee
Re-Appointed June 2018
Term Expires April 2023
Email: Sheena.Wilson@mt.gov
Robyn Driscoll
Billings, Member at Large
Appointed June 2018
Term Expires April 2023
Email: Robyn.Driscoll@mt.gov
David Severson
Missoula, Member at Large
Appointed March 2019
Term Expires April 2021
Email: Dave.Severson@mt.gov
Public Employees' Retirement Board
Mission Statement

The Montana Public Employees' Retirement Board, as fiduciaries, administers its retirement plans and trust fund, acting in the best interest of the members and beneficiaries.