# PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT BOARD 100 North Park Avenue, Room 201 Helena MT 59601

## LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE Monday, January 13, 2025 1:30 pm

#### **ATTENDANCE**

Committee

Maggie Peterson, Committee Chair (via video conference) Rich Hickel, Member (via video conference) Terry Halpin, Member (via video conference) Doug Kary, Member (via video conference) Jason Strouf, Member (via video conference)

#### MPERA Staff

William Holahan, Executive Director
Hollie Resler, Deputy Director and Fiscal Services Bureau Chief
Nick Domitrovich, Chief Legal Counsel (via video conference)
James Malizia, Attorney (via video conference)
Shari Hagengruber, Publication Specialist (via video conference)
Kelly Winterburn-Cox, Network Administrator
Cynthia Piearson, Executive Assistant

#### Public

John Foster, MSFA/MSCOPFF (via video conference) Dan Smith, Shelby DeMars, MPPA (via video conference)

#### **ACTIONS**

## VI.A. Update on MPERA Legislation

• General discussion. No formal action was taken on this item.

### **VI.B.** Legislative Tracking

- Member Jason Strouf moved that the Board be informational on LC0018, a legislative concept providing that the default retirement plan for legislators is the defined contribution plan through PERS. Member Rich Hickel seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.
- Member Terry Halpin moved that the Board be a proponent on Senate Bill 122 (formerly LC0020), a bill revising the ADEC rate and setting a minimum contribution rate for HPORS, SRS, and GWPORS. Member Rich Hickel seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

### VI.C. Schedule Next Legislative Committee Meeting

• The Legislative Committee agreed to meet next on January 20 at 1:30 p.m., reserving the right to cancel based on business needs.