Montana Public Employee Retirement Administration

Pictured from left to right: Rich Hickel, Jason Strouf, Robyn Driscoll, Sheena Wilson – President, Maggie Peterson – Vice President, Terry Halpin and Sonja Woods

About the Board

The Public Employees' Retirement Board is an independent, seven-member board, appointed by the Governor to administer eight retirement systems and the State’s Deferred Compensation Plan. The Board approves MPERA's operating budget, decides legislative policy and priorities, and hires the executive director.  In addition, the Board establishes the policies and procedures that govern operations at MPERA, hear and rule on appeal matters of disabilitants, retirees, and members. Board members do not receive compensation for their service to MPERA, but are reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred while serving.


Click here for a list of Board of Trustee meetings and minutes.


Sheena Wilson - President

Helena, Retired Public Employee



Maggie Peterson - Vice President

Anaconda, Experience in Investment Management

PERS Board Representative - BOI since 5/31/2017



Robyn Driscoll

Billings, Member at Large



Richard Hickel

Kalispell, Member at Large



Sonja Woods

Miles City, Active DC Plan Member



Terry Halpin

Billings, Active Public Employee



Jason Strouf

Miles City, Active Public Employee


Public Employees' Retirement Board
Mission Statement

The Montana Public Employees' Retirement Board, as fiduciaries, administers its retirement plans and trust fund, acting in the best interest of the members and beneficiaries.